### UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION Washington, D.C. 20549

# Form 8-K

### **CURRENT REPORT**

PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

Date of report (Date of earliest event reported): April 25, 2006

# **Kirby Corporation**

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

Nevada

(State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or organization)

55 Waugh Drive, Suite 1000 Houston, Texas (Address of principal executive offices) 1-7615 (Commission File Number) 74-1884980 (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)

> **77007** (Zip Code)

Registrant's telephone number, including area code: (713) 435-1000

Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisic

o Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)

o Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)

o Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))

o Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

#### Item 5.02 Departure of Director or Principal Officers; Election of Directors; Appointment of Principal Officers

The Kirby Corporation ("Kirby") Board of Directors on April 25, 2006 elected David L. Lemmon to serve on the Kirby Board, replacing Robert G. Stone, Jr. who passed away on April 18, 2006. Mr. Lemmon served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Colonial Pipeline Company from November 1997 through his retirement from Colonial in January 2006. Mr. Lemmon was also appointed to serve on Kirby's Audit Committee.

## SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

KIRBY CORPORATION (Registrant)

By:

/s/ NORMAN W. NOLEN

Norman W. Nolen Executive Vice President, Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer

Dated: April 27, 2006